Saturday, June 19, 2021
Home Politics AP Municipal Election Results 2021 LIVE Updates: Counting of Votes for 12...

AP Municipal Election Results 2021 LIVE Updates: Counting of Votes for 12 Corporations Begins

AP Municipal Election Results 2021 LIVE Updates: The counting of votes for the Andhra Pradesh municipal elections has begun, with a triangular fight expected among ruling YSRCP, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) in 12 municipal corporations, including Greater Visakhapatnam, Guntur and Vijayawada, and 71 Municipalities and Nagar Panchayats. YSRCP is contesting the municipal polls on the back of its victory in the recently concluded panchayat elections where it bagged more than 80% seats, pushing the TDP to a distant second. Jagan Mohan Reddy’s party even managed to make significant inroads into TDP Chief Chandrababu Naidu’s bastion Kuppam assembly constituency.

Here are the latest updates on the election results:

• The YSRCP has already secured an edge in the civic polls, grabbing 578 wards where its candidates were chosen unanimously on March 5. The state Election Commissioner’s announcement didn’t go down well with the TDP and BJP which accused Reddy of instigating political violence against their candidates, forcing them to withdraw from the elections.

• The stakes are also high for the BJP which is trying to establish itself as the main alternative to Jagan’s YSRCP ahead of the assembly elections in 2024. The saffron party has joined hands with Pawan Kalyan’s Jana Sena party, fielding candidates in 63 wards(BJP 22 and JSP 41) in total.

• The surprise entrant in this election is Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majilis-e-Ittehad-ul-Muslimeen (AIMIM) which is testing its electoral fortune in Andhra Pradesh for the first time since bifurcation in 2014. AIMIM has fielded candidates in 47 wards including Kurnool, Guntakal, Nandyal, Hindupur and Anantapur where there is sizeable Muslim population.

• According to the data published by the State Election Commission, nearly half the total candidates have Class 10 or below Class 10 educational qualification. There are 60 graduates and 31 post graduates in the electoral fray.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments